Commencement 2012

  • GOT IT
    GOT IT  Stephanie Collins '12 holds up the document for which she worked so hard to earn.  Skip Rowland '83
    YOUR TIME  Raymond A. Mason School of Business Dean Larry Pulley addresses the audience in the afternoon commencement ceremony.  Skip Rowland '83
    FAMILY TIME  Lydia Jang '12 poses with her family after receiving her diploma.  Skip Rowland '83
    PURE JOY  Musab Barakati M.B.A. '12 hides nothing during the Graduate Student Commencement ceremony at Miller Hall.  Skip Rowland '83
    ALL SMILES  Samantha Kern M.B.A. '12 takes in the sights during the ceremony.  Skip Rowland '83
    THE WHOLE ENCHILADA  Outgoing MBAA president Scott Sherman M.B.A. '12 addresses the audience.  Skip Rowland '83
Photo - of -

The traditional commencement ceremony represents the time when students emerge in a gown with a diploma, which represents years and years of hard work and knowledge gained. For the graduates of William & Mary's Raymond A. Mason School of Business, May 13, 2012 was a transformational day – one that will mark the day in which they will go forth and begin a new chapter. 

“Opportunity awaits each one of you,” said Larry Pulley, Dean of the Mason School, to his audience, who were gathered under a tent on the Fields Courtyard at Miller Hall. 

“A large number of you will succeed beyond your wildest dreams. Stay connected with us until you are connected to the right opportunity out there.  Wherever life takes you remember that we share a common, proud heritage and know that you will always be welcome here.”

In the end, 413 students received their diplomas, which includes 217 undergraduate students, 83 Master of Accounting students, 93 full-time MBA students, 19 Flex MBA students and one member of the Executive MBA program.

                                                     2012 Commencement Awards
Faculty Excellence Awards


Robert E. Williams


Elizabeth P. Foster

Full-time MBA

John S. Strong

Flex MBA 

Alexander Woods

MBA Class of 1997 Faculty Award for Innovation in the use of Classroom Technology 

David H. Murray

Faculty Service Awards


Alfred N. Page Undergraduate Teaching Award 

Katherine Guthrie

Alfred N. Page Graduate Teaching Award for the MAcc Program 

Hector H. Guerrero

Alfred N. Page Graduate Teaching Award for the MBA Program

Brent B. Allred

Daniel C. Lewis Award for Exceptional Service

Todd A. Mooradian

Daniel C. Lewis Volunteer Service Award 

Allan “Rik” Rikkola (Graduate)

Glenn Crafford (Undergrad)

Undergraduate Awards


Wayne F. Gibbs Accounting Award  (Achievement in the Undergraduate Accounting Program)

Kathryn A. Matteson

Charles L. Quittmeyer Award  (Scholastic Achievement in the Undergraduate Business Program)

Michael J. Riccard


John N. Dalton Memorial Award  (To support Post-Baccalaureate Interest in Public Service)  

Robert W. Greene

Student Contribution to the BBA Program Award   

Corbett W. Drummey

Graduate Student Awards - Master of Accounting Program


Trustee’s Award   (Highest GPA Among May MAcc Graduates)

Jared S. Rubin

Student Contribution to the MAcc Program Award

Rachael E. Meyers

Master of Business Administration Program


Trustee’s Award   (Highest GPA Among Full-time MBA Graduates) 

John-David  Waterman

Trustee’s Award   (Highest GPA Among Flex MBA Graduates)

Matthew Falzone

Monica Nolan

Student Contribution to the Full-time MBA Program Award

Vibha Chokhani

Student Contribution to the Flex MBA Program Award

Samuel K. Aldrich