Navigant Case Competition Brings Alumni and Students Together

Navigant Case Competition

WILLIAMSBURG, VA. - The Mason School of Business Undergraduate Program hosted the fifth annual Navigant Consulting Case Competition February 19-20 at the William & Mary Alumni House.  The event brought together W&M alumni who work at Navigant Consulting with students, faculty and Executive Partners in an intense, twenty-four hour case competition. 

The competition reached a record high in student participation:  96 students across 20 student teams.   “Navigant has created something special that has become part of student life for our business students.  It’s a spring tradition here at William & Mary,” noted Chris Adkins, Director of the Undergraduate Program.  

On the evening of Thursday, Feb. 19, the teams gathered to receive their case assignment, and then headed off to the library or dorm rooms to work all night.  The scenario challenged students to identify financial, legal, and ethical issues, and offer a solution that exhibited principled leadership.

 By 7 a.m. Friday, Feb. 20, the students arrived at the Alumni House in professional dress ready with a slideshow to present the case solution to the judges.  Navigant professionals and Executive Partners listened to the morning presentations and selected four top teams as finalists.

 After lunch, the finalists represented their solutions to a packed audience and addressed challenging questions from the judges.

Navigant Consulting first brought the competition to William & Mary in 2004, thanks to the efforts of alumni Kathy Durdin, Bernie Woolfley and Kevin Davis.

This year’s winners:

1st Place, $2,000 prize
 Lacey Duncan, Meghan Ingrisano, Lydia Lichtenberger, Schuyler Lolly
2nd Place, $750 prize (tie)
 Andrew Chan, Christopher Crook, Kristin Slawter, Susanne Titrington, Hyewon Yang
 Andrew Blasi, Malika Mukhamedkhanova, Caleb Piatt, Matthew Sass

3rd Place, $500 prize
 Kalle Fernandez, Gunnar Gregory, Roman Korkmazsky, Jonathan Leavitt

Honorable Mention, $250 prize
 Adam Cohen, Diana Fitzgerald, Anna Hunt, Deanna Melendez, Jessica Pollett
Honorable Mention, $250 prize
 Amanda Boeddeker, Michael Casey, William Deacon, Sara Rathbone, Brooks Wildasin

Honorable Mention, $250 prize
 Nick Alexander, Cindy Hess, Anthony Peck, Sonam Shah

Honorable Mention, $250 prize
 Brett Meulmester, Hareesh Nandipati, John Richert, James Zhang