Recipients of 2016 Julie R. Agnew Award Announced

On April 21, the Howard J. Busbee Finance Academy recognized former officers George Rudebusch, Abbey Doski and Christina Devon as the 2016 recipients of the Julie R. Agnew ('91) Distinguished Service Award. This award, created in 2013 and named in honor of the founding advisor of the Howard J. Busbee Finance Academy in recognition of her outstanding commitment to undergraduate students, is given annually to selected graduating students who have provided exemplary service to the academy during their undergraduate studies. Recipients are nominated by the members of the Howard J. Busbee Finance Academy and selected by the Executive Board.

“I'm honored,” said Christina Devon ‘16. “The Finance Academy has been an integral part of my experience at the Mason School of Business. I feel so fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with incredible faculty members and students alike."

"It is a tremendous honor receiving the award,” George Rudebusch ‘16 added. During his freshman year, he was impressed by the upperclassmen and their commitment to building a better and smarter community. “Role models in place, I adopted a similar attitude, striving to strengthen our community and assisting our students as much as I possibly could. Such profound focus on community service lies at the heart of what makes the Mason School such a special institution."

Abbey Doski ‘16 had a similar experience. "I was fortunate to have amazing peer mentors throughout my college career. They inspired me to do the same for those who would follow me. I hope the spirit of mentorship continues as it is an integral component of the culture at William & Mary.”